A Brief Introduction to Chakras

The chakras are the subtle energy centres of the body. They are visualized as spinning wheels of energy or sometimes as lotus flowers that can be more or less open. The Sanskrit word “chakra” means wheel or disk (or something circular).

The chakras accept, absorb and transmit energy through our systems (both the physical and energy bodies).

There are seven major chakras (some say 8 or 9) and hundreds of minor ones throughout our system. Each chakra is associated with particular physical, emotional, mental or spiritual qualities.

For optimum wellness, all chakras should be healthy. Defining “healthy” is a complex matter involving the degree to which a chakra is “open,” how the energy moves within it, whether it is balanced within itself and in relation to the other chakras, etc. Old, unhelpful patterns of thought and behaviour often cause energy blockages and require us to deal with our issues and cleanse our chakras through inner work.

The Seven Major Chakras

1. Muladhara, known in English as the Base or Root chakra.
Location: at the base of the torso, in the perineum.
Associated with survival, basic needs (food, water, shelter), overall vitality, “groundedness;” some also link this chakra to a sense of “tribe” as in feeling connected to and identifying with a family or a community. Governs the adrenal glands, rectum, legs, feet, bones.

2. Svadhisthana, known as the Sacral chakra.
Location: lower adbdomen.
Associated with sexuality, sex, procreation, creativity and emotion. Governs the sexual organs, the reproductive system, testicles, ovaries; pregnancy, childbirth.

3. Manipura, known as the Solar Plexus chakra.
Location: Solar Plexus.
Associated with ego, a sense of self, power, will, self-esteem. Governs the pancreas, liver, gall bladder, stomach, spleen; digestion.

4. Anahata, known as the Heart chakra.
Location: the centre of the chest (NOT the left side of the chest). Associated with love, at its best unconditional love; other emotions (including hurt). Governs the thymus and the immune system, the heart and the chest.
This chakra is a bridge between the 3 lower and the 3 higher chakras.

5. Visuddha, known as the Throat chakra.
Location: the throat.
Associated with communication; higher creativity or inspiration; self-expression as in speaking your truth. Governs the thyroid gland, throat, lungs; metabolism.

6. Ajna (pronounced Agnya), known as the Third Eye chakra.
Location: in the centre of the forehead or between the brows (opinions vary).
Associated with intuition, clarity of vision and clairvoyance. Governs the pituitary gland and hormones.

7. Sahasrara, known as the Crown chakra.
Location: top of head.
Associated with transcendental consciousness. Governs the pineal gland and the whole being.


  1. Brahma Satya Reiki is a self-evolved name for an applied spirituality pathway. The system relates to deep study and practice of principles of universal brotherhood and love. This spreads wellness, knowledge, truth, trust and righteous growth through the active use of naturally flowing universal core energy. This universal core energy is referred as Shiva-Shakti. It is this very balanced core energy that forms the basis of attaining the self-realized goal of complete wellness relating to body, mind and spirit.

    System Brahma is engaged in providing quality spiritual trainings, services and products. These trainings, services and products are imparted or made available to interested people through internet and direct visit of certified trainers and founder himself.

    System Brahma Satya emphasizes upon the practical usage of its spiritual concepts upon the areas of varying real needs relating to physical health (chronic, acute, incurable, infectious, emergency or even beauty enhancement), emotional & mental balance and wellness (anger, impatience, anxiety, fear, worry, depression, aggression, prosperity, greed, memory, concentration, peace, happiness, relationships, work, career, business, restlessness, relaxation or even education) and spiritual growth (astrological influences, aura management, chakra refinement, being alignment, ancestral blessing, karmic dissolution, ascension and self-realization).


    To have an individual realization awakened towards knowing the existing unity in within all creation; and thus make a truly worthwhile contribution in creating a confident dynamism in every individual that continues to spread the light of compassionate love and truth righteously creating and establishing firmly strong structures of universal complete wellness for one and all.

    Vision: It is so happening, every single moment!

    Come and Join Us! In this movement of Light and Love! Help Us Spread System Brahma Satya!
    Through the Lessons of Learning; The Services of Care; And, the Products of Spiritual Healing Utility

  2. Note to my readers: Deepak Hardikar is the founder of Brahma Satya Reiki and related healing modalities.
    Deepakji, thank you for your comment. I am so happy to see you read my blog! :)